Good Manufacturing Practice

Continually improve your business with a good manufacturing practice

With over 17,000 certified companies in more than 80 countries around the world, GMP + International is the global leader in the safety and quality control of animal feeders, and the GMP + certification gives additional credibility to the quality and correctness of each product made by animal food manufacturers.

The GMP + certification scheme for animal feed safety consists of two modules: GMP + FSA (GMP + Responsibility for Food Safety) and GMP + FRA (GMP + Responsibility for Guaranteeing Food Safety). In translation, GMP means “Good Manufacturing Practice” and this is a certification scheme based on the chain principle, which includes the requirements of ISO quality management.

In addition to guaranteeing the safety and properness of animal feed, the GMP + certification has lots of other benefits, such as:

  • New opportunities for selling and maintaining an existing database;
  • Achieving business continuity, given that the structure of the company is more efficiently set up, and the costs and financial risks are reduced;
  • Focus on quality management (ISO 9001) and food safety risk control (HACCP);
  • Improving corporate image and reliability;
  • Integration into the global operative system of animal food safety;
  • Access to help information (fact sheets, risk assessments, news, early warning messages, etc.);
  • Easier combination of multiple certifications (animal feed safety and liability);
  • Contribution to the unformity of the feed production chain.
1. Selection

Find out what the GMP+ (Good Manufacturing Practice) really is and what makes it suitable for your business.

Learn more
2. Safety System

Find out the best way to implement GMP+ and how our company can help you with this.

Learn more
3. Certification Body

Make an independent assessment of the standard implemented and obtain certification for your system.

Learn more
4. Revision

Make sure your system is constantly growing and evolving to deliver the best solutions for your business.

Learn more

1. Selection

To become GMP + certified, it is important that you have a food safety system that meets GMP + standards. In this regard, the company first defines its activities and chooses the GMP + standard that corresponds to these activities. There are four main standards that you can choose – one generic with a wide scope and three specific with a smaller scope. The standard GMP + B1 standard covers all the products of animal feed and can be used by all companies that produce, trade or store feeds for animals. This standard is often used by companies that have ISO certificates. The standard has the same structure and uses the same dictionary as the last ISO 9001 standard.

Three more specific standards (GMP + B2, B3 and B4) offer the same level of feed safety, but are tailored for more specific activities. This means that the terminology in these documents is more recognizable and available in several appropriate examples / explanations. A schematic view of the scope of the four main GMP + FSA standards can be found in the following table:

Standard Full name
B1 Production, trade and services
B2 (2010) Production of food ingredients
B3 (2007) Trade, collection, storage and transport
B4 Transport

2. Safety System

Establishing a food safety system essentially involves the introduction of rules and procedures that aim to control food safety, such as defining tasks and responsibilities, defining instructions for the production, cleaning, keeping records, setting and updating quality instructions and records of controls, etc.

The animal feed safety system allows companies to monitor any animal feed package they release on the market, as well as the history of production. In the case of unsafe animal feed, this information is needed to find the source and to remove further contamination. Companies can seek advice from consulting agents for the effective and efficient implementation of the animal feed safety system, although they usually perform internal controls themselves to check that all the appropriate conditions have been met.

3. Certification Body

When your company’s food safety system meets GMP + standards, and therefore guarantees the level of food safety control, companies can choose GMP + FSA certification. GMP + International does not perform certification controls, but the certification is left to independent, accredited certification bodies. Companies should check the scope of approvals, as certification bodies may not be approved to perform surveillance for each scope.

4. Revision

Depending on the availability of the auditor of the selected certification body, the audit can be carried out within a few weeks from the date of application. An audit consists of evaluating on-the-spot documentation and audits. When the auditor establishes a positive assessment, the certification body will issue a certificate and upload it to the GMP + database of the company.